Want to Be a Better Leader?

IMG_0362

Some of the best leaders and athletes ensure they look after themselves and take a step back when needed whilst striving for excellence. Leadership can be exhilarating, challenging and rewarding, but it can also be demanding and exhausting.
Just a few days taking a step away on holidays and already the time has given me space to start to refresh myself and clear my thoughts about work, where we are heading as a team and my own PD plans as a leader of learning.

“Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power” Lao Tzu

As a passionate leader I can very easily become engrossed in what’s happening on a daily basis and the adventure of the change journey we are on within our school. But I also know sometimes I need to take a step back and take care of myself. I was reflecting upon this and then also received this in some recent feedback as part of the AITSL Principal Standards 360 tool. The criticism was spot on and I know heeding this advice will make me a better leader.

As leaders and educators it can become very easy to take care of everybody else around us and forget about ourselves. Even after only a few days of sun and relaxation my mind is much more clear.

Some things for us all to think about as we head into the crazy end of the year and continue planning for next year:

Do you stop and give yourself enough rest and refreshment? Do you encourage this for your team around you?

Do you set clear targets in your work day and stick to them?

Does taking care of yourself as a leader ultimately make you more accessible, approachable and effective?

About Caroline Fishpool

Passionate and innovative leader at a large secondary school in Adelaide. Committed to doing something and acting to create change.
This entry was posted in Developing self and others, Leading improvement, innovation and change, Leading teaching and learning, Leading the management of the school, Professional Development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment